STMA wrestlers earn 3rd place at state

STMA’s Jake Briggs pins Moorhead’s Ben Lien, helping the team win its first match at state. (Photo by Bill Halldin)
STMA’s Jake Briggs pins Moorhead’s Ben Lien, helping the team win its first match at state. (Photo by Bill Halldin)

The St. Michael-Albertville Knights wrestling team capped off another stellar season by earning a third place finish at the State Wrestling Tournament at the X-cel Energy Center in St. Paul Thursday, Feb. 27.

The Knights won two and lost one dual, as they defeated Moorhead in the opening round 46-12, before dropping their semi-final match to Prior Lake 37-21, then edging Hastings 30-25 in the third place match.

Individual State champions, Mitchell McKee (120 pounds), Tommy Thorn (126), and Mark Voss (145), each went 3-0 (W-L) in the 3 duals, while Aaron Dick (106), Donnie Leuer (138), Lucas Jeske (152), Ryan Jones (182), Jake Briggs (195), and Randy Anderson (285), each had a record of 2-1 (W-L) in the dual tournament.

In the match for third place against Hastings, Junior Randy Anderson’s 5-1 win against his Hastings opponent sealed the win for the Knights at 220 pounds, with one match remaining.

Since moving to class “AAA” in 2010, the Knights have been team champions once (last season), runnerup 3 times (2010, 2011, and 2012), and this year placed 3rd.

So they have placed in the “top 3”, as a team, in each of the past 5 seasons, since moving to class ”AAA”.


STMA-46  Moorhead-12 (1st round)

106-Aaron Dick (STMA) major dec. over Grant Brendemuhl (M) 11-3

113-Zach Dehmer (STMA) dec. over Ethan Tallakson (M) 4-2, OT

120-Mitchell McKee (STMA) pinned Trent Erickson (M) :49

126-Colten Schoen (STMA) dec. over Matthew Solid (M) 6-0

132-Tommy Thorn (STMA) major dec. over Taylor Laidlaw (M) 12-2

138-Donnie Leuer (STMA) dec. over Kenny Mark (M) 5-1

145-Mark Voss (STMA) tech fall over RJ Olson (M) 20-3

152-Lucas Jeske (STMA) pinned Skyler Current (M) 2:00

160-Mitch Zachman (STMA) dec. over Grant Trowbridge (M) 8-2

170-Samuel Grove (M) dec. over Evan Foster (STMA) 7-0

182-Ryan Schock (M) dec. over Ryan Jones (STMA) 8-2

195-Jake Briggs (STMA) pinned Ben Lien (M) 1:35

220-Brody Jerome (M) pinned Andrew Puett (STMA) 1:00

285-Randy Anderson (STMA) dec. over Brenden Edner (M) 5-1


Prior Lake-37  STMA-21 


106-Zach Smith (PL) pinned Aaron Dick (STMA) 1:43

113-Gunner Charbonneau (PL) dec. over Zach Dehmer (STMA) 4-1

120-Mitchell McKee (STMA) major dec. over Dylan Sogge (PL) 10-0

126-Tommy Thorn (STMA) major dec. over Kenny O’Neil (PL) 16-2

132-Tyler Hanson (PL) pinned Jeff Geiger (STMA) 1:35

138-Donnie Leuer (STMA) major dec. over Wyatt Benson (PL) 9-1

145-Talon Juusola (STMA) dec. over Keaton Kaisersatt (PL) 3-1

152-Mark Voss (STMA) dec. over Blake Carlisle (PL) 3-1

160-Sean O’Neil)PL) major dec. over Luicas Jeske (STMA) 14-4

170-Robby Schultz (PL) pinned Evan Foster (STMA) 3:56

182-Ryan Jones (STMA) dec. over Lucas Pumper (PL) 6-1

195-Rylee Streifel (PL) dec. over Jake Briggs (STMA) 3-0

220-Alex Hart (PL) pinned Alec Birk (STMA) :46

285-Luis Pinto (PL) dec. over Randy Anderson (STMA) 9-3


STMA-30  Hastings-25 

(3rd Place)

106-Aaron Dick (STMA) dec. over Adam McSorely (H) 4-3

113-Spencer Kopp (H) dec. Zach Dehmer (STMA) 7-4

120-Mitchell McKee (STMA) pinned Luis Sanchez (H) 3:01

126-Tommy Thorn (STMA) pinned Kyle Erickson (H) 3:32

132-Luke Rowh (H) tech fall over Cody Schoen (STMA) 21-6

138-Austin Eichmann (H) dec. over Donnie Leuer (STMA) 6-5

145-Mark Voss (STMA) dec. over Jake Anderson (H) 9-3

152-Lucas Jeske (STMA) dec. over Jake Johnson (H) 14-7

160-Stuart Mattison (H) tech fall over Mitch Zachman (STMA) 16-1

170-Dan Marquette (H) dec. over Evan Foster (STMA) 8-6

182-Ryan Jones (STMA) dec. over Mark Vaith (H) 5-3

195-Jake Briggs (STMA) dec. over Daryale Harris (H) 7-1

220-Randy Anderson (STMA) dec. over Cullin Brendeland (H) 4-2

285-Tony Lordermeier (H) pinned Andrew Puett (STMA) 1:47