Pedersen is Rockford Athena Award winner

Katelynn Pedersen was chosen as Rockford’s female student representative at the 41st annual ATHENA Awards, Friday, May 3 at the Minneapolis Convention Center.

Katelynn Pedersen was named as the Athena Award winner from Rockford.
Katelynn Pedersen was named as the Athena Award winner from Rockford.

Pedersen will be individually recognized with 50-plus suburban and metro female athletes for their athletic accomplishments and commitment to excellence.

Rockford’s choral and instrumental ensembles have also been invited to provide musical entertainment at the event. This is Rockford’s second year of Athena participation.

Pedersen played for the Rockford varsity volleyball, basketball and softball teams.

Rockford also announced that Lydia Buffie and Karsten Poulsen are the school’s nominees for the Triple “A” Award sponsored by the Minnesota State High School League.

The award honors high school seniors who have excelled in the classroom and on the athletic field and in the fine arts. The award targets high academic standards and creates greater awareness of league-sponsored activities and their values.

Poulsen was chosen from sub-section 17 to advance to the Region 5 Triple ‘A’ competition.

Juniors Ellen Paatela and Ty Griffin were named as Rockford’s ExCEL nominees for Section 5A.

ExCEL means Excellence in Community, Education and Leadership and is a unique program designed exclusively for Minnesota high school juniors who are active in school activities, who show leadership qualities and who volunteer in their communities.