Schumm, Marx win handily in St. Michael

Incumbents Chris Schumm and Joe Marx easily won re-election to the St. Michael City Council, besting out challengers Cody Gulick, Michael Griffith and Thomas Biernat.

Mayor Jerry Zachman running unopposed won with 6,353 votes, or 97 percent.

Schumm and Marx, a former city councilor, both were appointed by the council in the wake of former councilor Dean Eggert’s death, and the relocation out of state by former councilor Cindy Weston. Schumm won big with 4,762 votes, or 40 percent, while Marx received 2,868 votes, or 24 percent.

Gulick was next with 1,932 votes,or 16 percent, Griffith had 1,273 votes, or 11 percent, and Biernat received 895 votes, or 7.59 percent.