STMA updated about bus route

The St. Michael-Albertville School Board again discussed busing for Towne Lakes neighborhood students, and discussed the status of district property and liability insurance.



Supt. Jim Behle reviewed current busing routes and stops available to open enrolled families in Albertville’s Towne Lakes neighborhood (part of Elk River School District).

Behle said state law requires open enrolled students to provide their own transportation, but that some students may be eligible to receive transportation from the Dist. 885 district border to their assigned school site.

Students with prior approval may get on a bus at one of the established bus pickup points, if there is room, and based on the bus final destination. Behle said open enrolled students must have prior approval and can make transportation arrangements by contacting Don’s Bus Co.

Behle also said the stop on County Rd. 19 had been changed so elementary students do not need to cross the road.

Board members Doug Birk, Jeanne Holland, Jeff Lindquist, Drew Scherber, Carol Steffens and Gayle Weber reached consensus that the current routes and stops for families in Towne Lakes are adequate and safe for students.



In other news, the board continued discussion about the status of the district property and liability insurance. Agent Arlan Middleton had been asked to update the board about the progress of property and liability insurance quotes.

The board continued to express concern with a 42 percent rate increase presented by Indiana Insurance. Board members agreed that in the future insurance rates for property and liability would be reviewed in June.

The board also discussed if they want to get quotes from other insurance agencies and agreed they have a fiscal responsibility to the stakeholders of the community to look at other agencies for property and liability insurance costs.

Chairperson Birk asked Supt. Behle to contact the Zachman Agency and move forward with quotes for board comparison.

In other action, the board:

APPROVED a resolution relating to election of school board members and calling the school district general election for Tuesday, Nov. 6. Up for election are three school board members. On the ballot will be incumbents Carol Steffens, Jeanne Holland and Drew Scherber, and challenger Jim Shovelain.

APPROVED the addition of an assistant cross country coach and assistant girls tennis coach.