Rogers tennis returns 5 starters

by Bruce Strand

[email protected]


Rogers had a delicious taste of winning last year, going 6-0 in the Mississippi 8 Conference in the first time they were ever even a contender. Top keep that success going, they must replace four starters, including  three all-conference.

Rachel Dodd, a junior with 50 career wins, heads a group of five returning starters. The other captains are Katy Meyer and Julia Sporer. Other starters back are Sydney Livingston and eighth-grader Samantha Fitzpatrick, whose 4-singles win against Buffalo last year clinched the conference title.

“This team is experienced and should have some depth,” said coach Debbie Conley. “All girls have been working on their game year round.”


Last year

6-0 conference,

15-8 overall

Coaches — Debbie Conley (8th year) … assistant Sam Okland

Captains — Rachel Dodd, Katy Meyer, Julia Sporer

Returning starters — Katy Meyer (sr), Rachel Dodd (jr), Julia Sporer (jr), Sydney Livingston (jr), Samantha Fitzpatrick (8th)

Other letterwinners — Dhrite Jagannathon (jr), Jenny Eggen(jr), Kaylie Conlin (8th)

Conference — Mississippi 8

Section — 5AA with Anoka, Blaine, Centennial, Champlin Park, Coon Rapids, Fridley, Irondale, Maple Grove, Mounds View, Osseo, Park Center, STMA, Spring Lake Park, Totino-Grace