Primary Election Results 2012

Dayton narrows council candidate field to 4

Voters in Dayton turned out to vote for their two top choices for the two open seats on the council this year. The top four vote getters will continue in the race. They were Eric Lucero with 323 votes (30.91 percent); James Jadwin with 186 votes (17.8 percent); Phil Forseth 162 votes (15.5 percent); and Scott Salonek with 159 votes (15.22 percent).

The remaining candidates each received less than 10 percent of the vote and with the lowest votes are no longer eligible for the general election.

The mayoral seat is also open this year but with only two candidates in the race, no primary election was necessary.

Rogers voters narrow field of city council candidates

The primary election results are in for Rogers.

Up for election is the two-year mayoral term belonging to former Mayor Jason Grimm (relocated to Florida), and two four-year city council seats belonging to Jay Bunting and Rob Bell.

In the mayoral primary, Bunting (who is the interim mayor) received the most votes, at 491. He will be joined on the general election ballot by the second top vote getter, Bob Ivey, who received 303 votes. Also receiving votes for mayor were Megan Reilly, 114 votes, and James Sarkilahti, 15 votes.

For city council, former councilor Darren Jakel received the most votes at 303; current councilor Don Hall (appointed to replace Jason Grimm’s vacancy) was second with 282 votes; Garrett McConnach received 276 votes; and Steve Swanson garnered 157 votes. Jakel, Hall, McConnach and Swanson will thus be the four candidates on the ballot for the two council seats.

Also receiving primary votes for city council were current councilor Rob Bell, 152 votes; Bill Boettner, 130 votes; Micheal Iwanok, 116 votes; Dick Martin, 100 votes; Dave Braesch, 38 votes; and Roger Allen Brown, 23 votes.

Senate District 33

In a very tight race to see who will represent the GOP in November’s election, it appears as though Dave Osmek has won the Senate District 33 GOP primary.

With 39 of 39 precincts reporting, Osmek has received 2,885 votes, compared to 2,778 for Connie Doepke.

Osmek was the GOP-endorsed candidate in the race, receiving the endorsement earlier this year over Doepke, who is the current House District 33B representative.

Provided there are no changes in the numbers, Osmek will now move on to the Nov. 6 election to face DFL candidate Judy Rogosheske.

Whomever wins in November will take over the seat of Sen. Gen Olson, who will retire at the end of the year.

Senate District 33 includes the cities of Corcoran, Deephaven, Excelsior, Greenfield, Greenwood, Independence, Long Lake, Loretto, Maple Plain, Medina, Minnetonka Beach, Minnetrista, Mound, Orono, Shorewood, Spring Park, St. Bonifacius, Tonka Bay, Wayzata and parts of Chanhassen.


It appears Penny Steele garnered the most votes of the four candidates vying for the district one seat with 48 percent or 3426 total votes. Incumbent Sara Wyatt received 22 percent or 1559 total votes. Steele and Wyatt will be on the Nov. 6 ballot contending for the District one seat.

 Incumbent misses cut in Three Rivers Park District Board of Commissioners — District 2

Rick Theisen received the most votes of the three candidates contending for the District two seat with 43 percent of the votes or 2344 total votes. Jennifer DeJournett received 29 percent or 1572 total votes. Theisen and Dejournett will be on the Nov. 6 ballot contending for the District two seat. Incumbent Marilynn Corcoran appears to have lost her seat with 1551 total votes.

Hennepin County Board District 1

Incumbent Commissioner Mike Opat will face Chris Rains in the November election to represent District 1 on the Hennepin County Board of Commissioners. Candidate Joy Marsh Stevens didn’t survive the Aug. primary.

With all precincts reporting the evening of Aug. 14, Opat had 5,082 votes, or 55.38 percent. Rains had received 2,865 votes, or 31.22 percent, and Stephens had garnered only 1,229 votes, or 13.39 percent. Results will become official when the Hennepin County Board canvasses the results.

Opat, a Robbinsdale resident, has served as District 1’s commissioner since 1992. Rains lives in Brooklyn Park and works as a Real Estate broker and retail storeowner. He has not run for office before.

Stephens, who will not appear on the November ballot, lives in Brooklyn Park and works as a project manager-process improvement manager for UnitedHealth Group.

Hennepin County District 1 includes all or parts of Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Minneapolis, New Hope, Osseo and Robbinsdale.

Wright County Dist. 4 voters narrow field

The primary vote is in for Wright County Dist. 4 Commissioner.

This is a new district that includes Precinct 1A in St. Michael (west of County Rd. 19), Albertville, Hanover, Rockford and Rockford Township.

Mary Wetter of Rockford Township received the most votes, at 229. Mike Potter of Albertville received 199 votes and will face Wetter in the general election.

Also receiving votes were David Dayon of St. Michael, 184 votes; Michael Beyer of Rockford, 147 votes; and Matt Walker of Rockford Township, 137 votes.

Wozniak to face Borrell in Wright Co. 5th District

Wright County voters have decided that Richard “Dick” Mattson will not return to the Wright County Board in 2013. By a narrow margin, Mattson lost his bid for a spot on the ballot in the Nov. 6 General Election in the race for the County Commissioner’s seat in the new Fifth District. He had served since 1992 as commissioner for the old Fifth District. He lives south of Buffalo in Marysville Township.

Charlie Borrell, who lives in Woodland Township near Howard Lake, was the top vote getter with 367 votes. He will face on Nov. 6 Leonard Wozniak, of Cokato, who drew 340 votes. Mattson came in third with 313 votes, but only the top two vote getters will be on the November ballot.

Borrell, Wozniak and Mattson easily surpassed five other candidates for the Fifth District seat — three of whom were from Delano. Dan Vick attracted 247 votes; Larry Bartels, 132 votes and Paul Schoborg, 28 votes. Schoborg had withdrawn from the election too late to have his name removed from the ballot. Results for the other candidates are Vickie Nibbe, 175 votes and Tom LaPlant, 36 votes.

The new Fifth District spans southern Wright County and includes Delano, which formerly was located in the Third District. Jack Russek, of Delano, is retiring from the Wright County Board after representing the Third District since 1992.

Incumbent Rep. Erik Paulsen handily wins Republican primary for 3rd Congressional District

Garnering more than 90 percent of the vote, U.S. Congressman Erik Paulsen held a commanding lead over challenger John W. Howard III in the Republican U.S. Congressional Dist. 3 Primary Election Aug. 14. Paulsen earned 18,762 votes (90.19 percent) to Howard’s 2,032 (9.81 percent). Paulsen will face DFLer Brian Barnes in the General Election in November.

Bachmann outdistances two opponents in 6th Congressional District

Michele Bachmann, of Stillwater, garnered 80.35 percent of the vote in the three-way race for the Republican spot on the ballot in the 6th Congressional District.

Bachmann drew 14,569 votes. Stephen Thompson attracted 2,322 votes (12.81 percent), and Aubrey Immelman attracted 1,242 votes (6.85 percent).

In the Democratic primary, Jim Graves ran unopposed and received 8,600 votes.

In this area, the 6th District includes St. Michael, Albertville, Hanover, Delano, Rockford and Rockford Township.