City council, school board filing underway

Filing for city council and school board takes place Tuesday, July 31, through Tuesday, Aug. 14.

There are three requirements to be considered qualified for either position; you must be an eligible voter, at least 21 years old upon assuming office (January 2011), and a resident of the city or school district you are filing in 30 days prior to the Nov. 2 General Election.

Up for election in Albertville are seats belonging to Mayor Mark Meehan (two-year term) and councilors Larry Sorensen and John Vetsch (four-year terms). Filing is at city hall, 5959 Main Ave.

Up for election in Corcoran are seats belonging to Mayor Ken Guenthner (two-year term), and councilors George Gmach and Roz Milbrandt (four-year terms). Filing is at city hall, 8200 County Rd. 116.

In Hanover, Mayor Martin Waters (four-year term) and city councilors John Vajda and Dave Malewicki are both up for four-year terms. Filing is at city hall, 11250 Fifth St.

Up for election in Rogers are Mayor Jason Grimm (two-year term), and councilors Jay Bunting and Rob Bell (four-year terms). Filing is closed, as the candidates will square off in the Aug. 14 primary.

In St. Michael, seats belonging to Mayor Jerry Zachman (two-year-term), and Chris Schumm and Joe Marx (four-year terms) are up for election. Filing is at city hall, 3150 Lander Avenue NE.

For the St. Michael-Albertville School Board, four-year seats belonging Jeanne Holland, Drew Scherber and Carol Steffens are up for election. Filing is at STMA Middle School West building – Door A.

For the Elk River School Board, four-year at-large seats belonging to Sue Farber, Janelle Henry and Holly Thompson are up for election. Filing closed, no primary necessary, as six total candidates will be seeking the three seats. All three incumbents filed. Also filing are contenders Dan Hunt of Rogers, Jane Frazier of Rogers and Tom McCauley of Elk River.