Candidates to file for city offices

The filing period begins Tuesday, July 31, for candidates seeking elected city offices and school board seats. The deadline for filing is Tuesday, Aug. 14.

Rockford, Greenfield, Medina, Delano and Loretto all will hold city elections and school board elections will take place in the Rockford and Delano School Districts. The cost to file candidacy papers is $2.

In Medina, the seats of Mayor Tom Crosby and City Councilors Elizabeth Weir and Mike Siitari will be on the ballot. The mayor’s term runs for two years and the city council terms are each four years long.

For information about seeking office in Medina, call 763-473-4643 or stop at Medina City Hall, 2052 County Road 24, between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

In Loretto, the seats of Mayor Kent Koch and City Councilors Clark Lohr and Jeffrey France will be on the ballot. The mayor’s seat carries a two-year term and the city council seats carry four-year terms.

For information about seeking office in Loretto, call City Clerk Cindy Patnode at 763-479-4305 or stop at Loretto City Hall, 279 N. Medina St., Ste. 260. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 2 p.m., Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

In Delano, the seats of City Councilors Betsy Stolfa and Holly Schrupp are up for election. Both seats carry four-year terms. For information about the Delano City Council election, call City Clerk Marlene Kittock at 763-972-0566 or stop at Delano City Hall, 234 Second St. N.

The Delano School District will have the seats of six School Board members on the ballot. Three of the seats will carry four-year terms and three will carry two-year terms. The seats of Amy Johnson, Randy Durick, Carolyn Milano, Peter Brasket, Sarah Baker and Corey Black all will be up for election.

In the city of Rockford, the mayor and two city council seats are open for election. This is a five-member council, and the term of each seat are is four years. The open seats are currently occupied by Mayor Mike Beyer, and Councilors Renee Hafften and Rick Martinson. Beyer has announced his candidacy for a position on the Wright County Board.

Filing affidavits are available at the Rockford City Hall, 6031 Main St. For more information, call the city office at 763-477-6565.

Greenfield will also have three open spots on its City Council. The Mayor’s seat, currently held by Jerry Hertuas, is up for election. This is a two-year term. Hertaus has announced his candidacy for a Minnesota State Congressional seat. Councilor Mike Erickson currently occupies one of the open council seats, while the other is vacant. Councilor terms are four years. Filing affidavits are available at City Hall, 7738 Commerce Circle. Please call the city office at 763-477-6464 with questions.

The Rockford Area Schools Board of Education, District 883, will have three of its six board seats on the ballot. These terms are for four years. Seats up for election are currently held by Kris Abrahamson, Todd Anderson and Kathy Smith. A filing application can be obtained at the district office, 6051 Ash St. (in the Rockford Middle School). For additional information on filing, call the office at 763-477-9165.

For information about the Delano School Board election, stop at the school district office, located in Delano High School at 700 Elm Ave. E. or call Business Manager Mary Reeder at 763-972-3365 ext. 2118. Office hours are 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through Thursday and 7:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m., Friday. On Tuesday, Aug. 14, the office will close at 5 p.m.