Election filing open through Aug. 15

Staff Writer
Since 2013, I have primarily covered the Anoka-Hennepin and Spring Lake Park school districts as well as the city of Spring Lake Park for ABC Newspapers.

By Olivia Alveshere
[email protected]

At press time, six individuals had filed for Anoka-Hennepin and Spring Lake Park school board elections, set to be held Nov. 7.
Filing for three seats on the Anoka-Hennepin School Board and four at-large seats on the Spring Lake Park School Board opened Aug. 1 and will remain open until Aug. 15.
In Anoka-Hennepin, the race is on for seats in districts 3, 4 and 6, those currently held by Bill Harvey, William Fields and Jeff Simon.
District 3 comprises Champlin, southwestern Coon Rapids and Dayton. Harvey, of Champlin, has filed for re-election and is unopposed for now. He was appointed to the board in January 2013 before defeating Grace Baltich on Election Day later that year.
District 4 includes northern Andover, Ham Lake, Nowthen, Oak Grove and northeastern Ramsey. Fields has not filed for re-election as of press time, but two others have thrown their hats in the ring: Anna Dirkswager and Brian Hurda, both of Andover.
District 6 is made up of southern Andover and northern Coon Rapids. Incumbent Simon, of Coon Rapids, is the only person to have filed at press time. Simon was appointed to the School Board in 2012 and ran for the seat unopposed in 2013.
Two of four Spring Lake Park incumbents have filed for re-election. Board Chairperson John Stroebel and Marilynn Forsberg have entered the race; at press time, Kelly Delfs and Jodi Ruch have not.
Stroebel, of Blaine, was first elected to the School Board in 2005.
Forsberg, of Spring Lake Park, is one of the longest-serving active board members in Minnesota. She has served the Spring Lake Park School Board for 36 years.
Members on both boards are elected to four-year terms.
Candidate filings must be received by Anoka County Elections at the Anoka County Government Center, 2100 Third Ave., Anoka, by 5 p.m. Aug. 15. The office is typically open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
To run for school board, candidates must be eligible to vote, 21 years of age or older and a resident of their district for at least 30 days prior to the election.
The filing fee is $2.
For more information, contact Anoka County Elections at [email protected] or 763-323-5275.