Rockford gains momentum for town team baseball playoffs

Bryan McCallum connects for the Rockford town team that won two games last week. (Photo by Bill Nord)
Bryan McCallum connects for the Rockford town team that won two games last week. (Photo by Bill Nord)


The Rockford River Bandits started the Class C Region 12 amateur baseball playoffs where it left off in the regular season.

Rockford dominated Montrose 15-3 Sunday for a second straight victory and gain momentum for the playoffs that started Wednesday, July 23 against Montrose. The River Bandits also rolled over Buffalo 10-0 last week.

The top seven seeded teams advanced to the Region 12 tourney. The remaining five teams must play for the No. 8 spot. The team who advances must face top seed Maple Lake, 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, July 30 at Maple Lake.

The Rockford-Montrose playoff winner will play at Mound Saturday, July 26. That winner will face either Buffalo or Cokato, 2 p.m. Sunday, July 27 at the home of the higher seed.

Rockford takes a 3-16 record to the playoffs, but came on strong the last week of the regular season, defeating two of the teams in the play-in tourney.

Against Buffalo, Jason Lesser pitched all seven innings when needing only 46 pitches. Travis Peterson and John Redepenning both went 2 for 4.

Lance Reynolds worked all nine innings against Montrose Sunday. The bats came alive with two players blasting two home runs each. Cody Kielsa was 2 for 4 with two home runs and he drove in six runs. Anthony Brenner was 3 for 5 with two homers. Alex Hecht was 3 for 5 with a double and 2 RBIs.

The top seven playoff seeds are Maple Lake (20-2), Howard Lake (20-2), Loretto (15-7), DC (15-7), Delano (13-8), Hutchinson (11-11) and Maple Plain (9-12). Next came Mound, Cokato, Buffalo, Rockford and Montrose.

Rockford’s playoff roster includes Andy Jorges, Ben Fontana, Cole Hansen, Anthony Brenner, Boston Fieldseth, Adam Brion, Donnie Mavencamp, Lance Reynolds, Jason Lesser, Zac Nelson, Alex Hecht, Bryan McCallum, Travis Peterson, Cody Kielsa, Jordan Redepenning, Josh Green, Ryan Rassatt and John Redepenning.