3 students win college-sponsored merit scholarships

National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced approximately 2,500 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities. There were three area students that received sholarships. Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

This year, 190 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 113 private and 77 public institutions located in 44 states and the District of Columbia.

Emma Folke, an Osseo Senior High School graduate, received a National Merit Drake University Scholarship. Her probable career field is actuarial science.

Emily Leonard, a Maple Grove Senior High School graduate, received a National Merit North Dakota State University Scholarship. Her probably career field is engineering.

Samyuktha Narasimhan, of Maple Grove, received a National Merit Iowa State University Scholarship. Her probable career field is elementary education.

College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners announced are a part of the distinguished group of about 8,000 high school seniors who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth over $35 million. Earlier this spring, NMSC announced winners of corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards and National Merit $2,500 Scholarships.