STMA wrestlers win section title, stamp state ticket

The STMA Knights wrestling team, Section Champs for the 16th consecutive season. (Photo by Bill Halldin)
The STMA Knights wrestling team, Section Champs for the 16th consecutive season. (Photo by Bill Halldin)


The STMA wrestling team came through with a big win Friday night, Feb. 14, as they defeated an inspired Cambridge-Isanti team for the Section 7AAA team title, qualifying for the State dual meet tourney.

STMA junior Ryan Jones with a crucial 8-2 win at 182 pounds against Cambridge-Isanti.
STMA junior Ryan Jones with a crucial 8-2 win at 182 pounds against Cambridge-Isanti. (Photo by Bill Halldin)

For the Knights, it is their 21st time in the past 22 years that they have qualified for the State Wrestling Tourney, as a team, and the 16th consecutive season. They outscored Cambridge-Isanti by a score of 32-25 in the hard-fought dual meet that matched two teams ranked in the “top 5” of the State. STMA won 9 out of the 14 matches, but Cambridge-Isanti had 3 pins to zero for the Knights. Freshman Evan Foster of STMA came from 5 points down, in the 3rd period and tied the match at 170 pounds with less than 5 seconds remaining at 13-13.

He was behind by a score of 9-2 at one point in the match. An overtime takedown gave Foster a “sudden death” victory, 15-13 to give the Knights a key win, while the outcome of the dual was still very much in the balance. Then, much like the last time the 2 teams wrestled, junior Jake Briggs put the match out of reach with a 3-2 win over his Cambridge-Isanti opponent at 195 pounds, making the team score 32-16 Knights, with 2 matches remaining.

STMA head coach, Dan Lefebvre said, “It is always very special to make it to State as a team and it’s never a guarantee and we treasure this opportunity to once again take a team to the State and compete. It doesn’t get old. For some of our guys, they’ve been in the State Tourney numerous times, but for many of our guys, this is the first time. It’s exciting either way. The boys had a real team effort to win this title. We had talked about wrestling hard for 6 minutes and good things will happen and they did just that. We had some great come-from-behind wins and that was because they wrestled hard for 6 minutes.”

Earlier on Friday, the Knights defeated Blaine by a score of 53-10, then beat Coon Rapids by a score of 42-24 in the semi-finals, before downing Cambridge-Isanti in the final. The Knights had 8 wrestlers go undefeated with 3-0 records on the day that included: Aaron Dick (106), Mitchell McKee (120), Tommy Thorn (126), Mark Voss (145), Lucas Jeske (152), Evan Foster (170), Ryan Jones

(182), and Jake Briggs (195).

The Knights wrestle at the X-cel Energy Center in St. Paul at 9:00 AM on Thursday February 17th against an opponent yet to be determined. If they win that 1st match, they would wrestle in the semi-finals at 1:00 PM and if they win in the semi-finals, they would wrestle in the championship match at 7 PM.




106-Zach Dehmer (STMA) pinned Michael Bourgeois (B) 1:13

113-Aaron Dick (STMA) won by forfeit

120-Mitchell McKee (STMA) pinned Carter Newman (B) :49

126-Tommy Thorn (STMA) pinned Joe Carlson (B) 3:06

132-Malik Stewart (B) major dec. over Cody Schoen (STMA) 9-1

138-Donnie Leuer (STMA) pinned Sam Peterson (B) 1:36

145-Mark Voss (STMA) pinned Jameson Allen (B) :59

152-Lucas Jeske (STMA) dec. over Craig Bolster (B) 7-1

160-Evan Ronsen (STMA) dec. over Cody Babineau (B) 11-5

170-Evan Foster (STMA) dec. over Jimmy Kittelson (B) 7-5

182-Ryan Jones (STMA) pinned Jimmy Wallraff, Jr. (B) 4:58

195-Jake Briggs (STMA) dec. over Glenn Meyers (B) 5-4

220-Caleb Butler (B) pinned Andrew Puett (STMA) :15

285-Randy Anderson (STMA) dec. over Almed Hasses (B) 3-1




Coon Rapids-24

106-Aaron Dick (STMA) pinned Chris Bothwell (CR) 1:45

113-Colten Schoen (STMA) major dec. over Mike Jones (CR) 9-0

120-Mitchell McKee (STMA) major Dec. over Jordan Peterson (CR) 10-0

126-Tommy Thorn (STMA) pinned Josh Bryant (CR) :25

132-Jarod Julkowski (CR) pinned Jeff Geiger (STMA) 5:34

138-Kiyanu Baker (CR) dec. Donnie Leuer (STMA) 3-1, OT

145-Mark Voss (STMA) dec. over Justin May (CR) 9-3

152-Michael Bothwell (CR) dec. over Mitchell Zachman (STMA) 4-0

160-Lucas Jeske (STMA) pinned Justin Reeves (CR) 2:17

170-Evan Foster (STMA) dec. over Alex Calderilla (CR) 9-6

182-Tyler Berdahl (CR) pinned Alec Birk (STMA) 1:40

195-Ryan Jones (CR) pinned Scott McClain (CR) 1:48

220-Jake Briggs (STMA) major dec. over Hank Lovik (CR) 15-1

285-Shad Olson (CR) pinned Andrew Puett (STMA) 1:23




106-Aaron Dick (STMA) dec. over Carlo Holmberg (C-I) 10-3

113-Brady Kuntz (C-I) pinned Zach Dehmer (STMA) :47

120-Mitchell McKee (STMA) major dec. over Monty Fredrickson (C-I) 16-6

126-Tommy Thorn (STMA) major dec. over Travis Swanson (C-I) 18-7

132-James Fredrickson (C-I) major dec. over Cody Schoen (STMA) 15-2

138-Donnie Leuer (STMA) dec. over Reagan Lane (C-I) 5-1

145-Mark Voss (STMA) tech fall over Brandon Lyzhoft (C-I) 26-11

152-Lucas Jeske (STMA) major dec. over Tanner Torgerson (C-I) 8-0

160-Cody Skog (C-I) pinned Evan Ronsen (STMA) 2:56

170-Evan Foster (STMA) dec. over David Kent (C-I) 15-13, OT

182-Ryan Jones (STMA) dec. over Jake Pasch (C-I) 8-2

195-Jake Briggs (STMA) dec. over Dakota Johnson (C-I) 3-2

220-Kyle Chromy (C-I) pinned Andrew Puett (STMA) 2:13

285-Spencer Simon (C-I) dec. over Randy Anderson (STMA) 3-1, OT