Opat re-elected Hennepin County Board chair

Commissioner Mike Opat, 1st District, was unanimously re-elected chair of the seven-member Hennepin County Board of Commissioners today (Jan. 7) at the board’s organizational meeting for 2014.

“I am grateful for my colleagues’ vote of confidence and look forward to a successful and exciting 2014 with them,” said Commissioner Opat.

“While the work of the county is often silent, our efforts will continue to be broad and impactful to the lives of Hennepin’s 1.2 million residents. As in years past, we will focus on maintaining our excellent transportation system, expanding transit opportunities, advancing public health and keeping public safety a priority.”

Opat has served on the board since 1993. He represents Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, New Hope, Osseo and Robbinsdale. Opat has served eight terms as board chair from 2001 through 2003, and 2009 through 2013.

The board also unanimously re-elected Commissioner Jan Callison, 6th District, as board vice chair. Callison has served on the board since 2009. Her district includes Deephaven, northern Eden Prairie, Edina, Excelsior, Greenwood, Hopkins, Long Lake, Minnetonka, Minnetonka Beach, northern Mound, Orono, Shorewood, Spring Park, Tonka Bay, Wayzata, and Woodland.

The board also established board committees and selected committee chairs:

Budget and Capital Investment: Commissioner Jan Callison

Public Works, Energy and Environment: Commissioner Peter McLaughlin

Health and Human Services: Commissioner Linda Higgins

Public Safety and Judiciary: Commissioner Jeff Johnson

Libraries, Technology and General Government: Commissioner Randy Johnson

Intergovernmental: Commissioner Linda Higgins and Commissioner Peter McLaughlin

The board, acting as the Hennepin County Regional Railroad Authority (HCRRA), unanimously re-elected Commissioner Peter McLaughlin, 4th District, as chair and  Commissioner Gail Dorfman, 3rd District, as vice chair of the HCRRA.

The board usually meets every Tuesday at 1:30 p.m. at the Hennepin County Government Center. You can find a complete schedule, meeting minutes and agendas at www.hennepin.us/boardmeetings.

Board and committee meetings are live-streamed on the web, broadcast live on Metropolitan Cable Network Channel 6, and re-broadcast on Channel 6 on Fridays at 8 p.m.