Osseo-Maple Grove School Calendar

Beginning Acting

THROUGH DEC. 18 — Homeward Bound Theatre Company to offer “Beginning Acting” Wednesdays, Nov. 13 through Dec. 18 from 4:15  to 5:45 pm at Oak View Elementary School in Maple Grove where 4th through 6th graders will learn the “how to” of theatre.  The adventure of character dynamics, costuming, basic acting, auditioning and more will be shared through authentic theatre games and exercises. Students will perform a small play at the end of the class for family and friends. For more information and/or cost of registration call Osseo Area Community Education at 763-391-7223.

OSH fall musical

NOV. 8 TO 10, 14 TO 16 — Osseo Senior High School will present its fall musical “Godspell,” Nov. 8, 9 and 14 to 16, with performances at 7:30 p.m. A matinee performance will be Nov. 10, at 2:30 p.m.

Concerts at OSH

NOV. 11, 19 and 21 — The Osseo Senior High School band Veterans’ Day Program will be Monday, Nov. 11, at 7:30 p.m. in the auditorium. The school’s choir concert with the Osseo Junior High ninth grade band will be Tuesday, Nov. 21, at 7:30 p.m. in the auditorium. The OSH band concert with the OJH band will be Thursday, Nov. 21, at 7:30 p.m. in the auditorium.

Parent group at MGJH

MGJH concerts

NOV. 21 — The Maple Grove Junior High School ninth grade choir concert will take place Thursday, Nov. 21, at 7:30 p.m. The school’s ninth grade band concert will take place Thursday, Nov. 21, at 7:30 p.m. at Osseo Senior High School.

Trimester change

NOV. 26 & DEC. 2 — Trimester I for the Osseo Area School District ends Tuesday, Nov. 26. Trimester II will begin Monday, Dec. 2.

Scholarship breakfast

NOV. 27 — The Osseo Area Retired Educators (OARE) 8th Annual Scholarship Breakfast will be held Wednesday, Nov. 27 from 6 to 9 a.m., at Osseo Senior High in the cafeteria.  The public is invited to attend to support the OARE Scholarship Fund, which will provide scholarships to Osseo Area Schools students. Tickets are $8 for Belgian waffles with a variety of toppings, pork sausage links, juice and coffee. Craft items will also be on display for sale. Osseo Senior High is located at 317 2nd Ave. NW, Osseo. Individuals unable to attend the event are still able to donate to the Scholarship Fund.  For more information on donating or to purchase tickets in advance contact Jan Savoren at 763-391-7114.

No school

NOV. 27 TO 29 — There will be no school for Osseo Area School students Wednesday, Nov. 27, because of a mark reporting day. There will also be no school Thursday, Nov. 28 and Friday, Nov. 29, because of the Thanksgiving holiday.

OJH parent meeting

DEC. 2 — There will be a Parent Connection meeting at Osseo Junior High School Monday, Dec. 2, at 7 p.m. in the media center. The agenda includes an OJH fundraising brainstorm session and school update.

MGSH report cards

DEC. 11 — Maple Grove Senior High School trimester I report cards will be available Wednesday, Dec. 11, through SchoolView. Report cards will no longer mailed.

Concerts at OSH

DEC. 12, 16 & 17 — The Osseo Senior High School orchestra concert will be Thursday, Dec. 12, at 7:30 p.m. in the auditorium. The school’s holiday band concert will be Monday, Dec. 16, at 7:30 p.m. The OSH holiday choir concert will be Tuesday, Dec. 17, at 7:30 p.m. in the auditorium.

Winter break

DEC. 23 TO JAN. 1 — The Osseo Area School District will not have school because of winter break from Monday, Dec. 23 through Wednesday, Jan. 1. Classes will resume Thursday, Jan. 2.

No school

JAN. 20 — There will be no school Monday, Jan. 20, for students in the Osseo Area School District due to Martin Lutheran King Jr. Day.

Conferences at OJH

JAN. 22 — Osseo Junior High School students will receive their mid-trimester progress reports Jan. 22.

OSH conferences

JAN. 23 — Parent/teacher conferences for Osseo Senior High School students will be Thursday, Jan. 23, from 3:30 to 8 p.m. The arena format will be used. Students will hand carry home their mid-trimester reports the same day.

Sno Daze at OSH

JAN. 27 TO 31 — Osseo Senior High School will celebrate Sno Daze week Monday, Jan. 27 through Friday, Jan. 31. The Sno Daze Coronation and Pepfest will be Thursday, Jan. 30. The Sno Daze Dance will be Friday, Jan. 31, from 8 to 11 p.m.

Conferences at MGSH

JAN. 30 — Parent/teacher conferences for Maple Grove Senior High School students will be Thursday, Jan. 30, from 3 to 8 p.m.

No school

JAN. 31 — There will be no school for Osseo Area School students Friday, Jan. 31, due to a licensed staff workshop day.

OSH registration conferences

FEB. 5 — Osseo Senior High School will host its registration conferences Wednesday, Feb. 5, from 5 to 8 p.m.

Conferences at MGSH

FEB. 6 — Registration and planning conferences for the 2014-15 school year for Maple Grove Senior High School students will be Thursday, Feb. 6, from 3 to 7 p.m.

No school

FEB. 14 & 17 — There will be no school for students in the Osseo Area School District Friday, Feb. 14, for a conference release day. Schools will also be closed Monday, Feb. 17, for Presidents’ Day.

No half-day kindergarten

FEB. 20 & 21 — Osseo Area School half-day kindergarten students will not have school Thursday, Feb. 20 and Friday, Feb. 21, due to conference release days.

Concert at OSH

MARCH 4 — There will be an Osseo Senior High School choir concert Tuesday, March 4, at 7:30 p.m. in the auditorium.

Trimester change

MARCH 6 & 10 — Trimester II for Osseo Area School students ends Thursday, March 6. Trimester III will begin Monday, March 10.

No school

MARCH 7 — There will be no school for Osseo Area School District students Friday, March 7, because of a mark reporting day.

MGSH report cards

MARCH 19 — Maple Grove Senior High School trimester I report cards will be available Wednesday, March 19, through SchoolView. Report cards will no longer mailed.

OJH parent meeting

MARCH 24 — There will be a Parent Connection meeting at Osseo Junior High School Monday, March 24, at 7 p.m. in the media center. The agenda includes MCA testing procedures and prep tips as well as planning for staff appreciation.

Spring break

MARCH 31 TO APRIL 4 — Spring break for Osseo Area School District students runs Monday, March 31 through Friday, April 4. Classes resume Monday, April 7.

Wastebasket Revue

APRIL 10 TO 14 — The annual Wastebasket Revue will take place Thursday, April 10 through Monday, April 14, at Park Center Senior High School.

Conferences at OJH

APRIL 16 — Osseo Junior High School students will receive their mid-trimester progress reports April 16.

No school

APRIL 18 — There will be no school for students in the Osseo Area School District Friday, April 18, due to a license staff workshop day.

Conferences at MGSH

APRIL 23 — Parent/teacher conferences for Maple Grove Senior High School students will be Wednesday, April 23, from 3 to 7 p.m.

OSH conferences

APRIL 24 — Parent/teacher conferences at Osseo Senior High School will be Thursday, April 24, from 3:30 to 8 p.m. Students will hand carry home their mid-trimester reports the same day.

Concerts at OSH

MAY 6 & 20 — The Osseo Senior High School orchestra concert will perform with a fifth grade orchestra Tuesday, May 6, at 8 p.m. in the gym at Osseo Junior High School. The OSH band concert will be Tuesday, May 20, at 8 p.m. in the auditorium.

OSH prom

MAY 17 — Osseo Senior High School will host is Prom Saturday, May 17, from 7 to 11 p.m. The event will take place at the Earle Brown Heritage Center in Brooklyn Center.

No school

MAY 26 — There will be no school for Osseo Area Schools students Monday, May 26, due to the Memorial Day holiday.

Concerts at OSH

MAY 27 & 28 — The Osseo Senior High School choir concert will be Tuesday, May 27, at 7:30 p.m. in the auditorium. The school’s orchestra and guitar concert will be Wednesday, May 28, at 7:30 p.m. in the auditorium.

OSH senior events

MAY 28, 29, JUNE 3 & 8 — Graduating seniors at Osseo Senior High School will be required to attend mandatory senior graduation meetings either Wednesday, May 28 or Thursday, May 29. The last day for seniors will be Tuesday, June 3. Caps and gowns will distributed. Commencement ceremonies for graduating OSH students will be Sunday, June 8, at 2:30 p.m. at the Target Center in Minneapolis. The Senior All-Night Party will run from 9 p.m. on June 8 to 5 a.m. on June 9.

 

MGSH senior events

JUNE 8 — The commencement ceremonies for graduating MGSH students will be Sunday, June 8.

 

Last day of school

JUNE 5 — The last day of school for the Osseo Area School District is Thursday, June 5. Check with each school for dismissal times.

MGSH report cards

JUNE 16 — Maple Grove Senior High School trimester I report cards will be available Monday, June 16, through SchoolView. Report cards will no longer mailed.

 

 

Weekly

There is an opportunity for Maple Grove and Osseo mothers to join Moms In Prayer International. Moms In Touch is a group of mothers who meet for one hour each week to pray for their children and the schools they attend. “We know our children face much pressure at school and to stand in the gap through prayer is the best gift we can given them,” a spokesperson said. Persons interested in joining the praying support group may call Mary Nelson at 420-6938 or e-mail marykayenelson@comcast.net.

up arrow