Delano Citizen of Year deadline is Dec. 2

The General Federated Women’s Club of Delano is asking for nominations for “Delano Citizen of the Year,” an award given each year to a person with an extraordinary record of volunteer service to the Delano community. Deadline for submitting nominations is Monday, Dec. 2.

The Women’s Club will honor the winner at its annual spring banquet on Saturday, April 26. The award and banquet have become a tradition in Delano that goes back 35 years. Loretta Diem was the first Citizen of the Year in 1978. Recent honorees have included Dale Vanderlinden, Jack Lynch, Dave Carroll, Steve Gilmer and Ted May.

The club is seeking nominees from all groups and organizations in the Delano area. The nominee need not be a member of the nominator’s organization. The selection committee wants to know about the nominee’s family, work, volunteerism, other community involvement and activities outside the local community.

“Detailed information is very helpful in making the best selection,” said selection committee member Jean Pilarski.

The selection committee wants nominations submitted in a letter with details related to the selection criteria. They include achievement and nature of service, contributions to the welfare and betterment of the community, evidence of lasting contribution to the community (length of service), diversity of activities, participation in community activities and civic enterprises, and cooperation with individuals and civic organizations. Also describe the nominee’s degree of involvement by listing offices the person has held and the number of years for each.

Nominations must be in writing and signed by the individual or group making the nomination. Include the name, address and phone number of both the nominee and the nominator. A nominee must live in the Delano or surrounding area. The Women’s Club will hold nominations in the strictest of confidence.

Nominations should be sent to Pilarski at [email protected] or 213 Fourth St. N., Delano, MN 55328. The Women’s Club will make the final decision for Citizen of the Year.

Contact Susan Van Cleaf at [email protected]