State’s top fire official to retire after more than 40 years fire service

Fire Service Veteran Bruce West named next State Fire Marshal


State Fire Marshal Jerry Rosendahl will hang up his boots in December after 40 years with the Minnesota fire service, including nearly 10 years leading the Minnesota Department of Public Safety State Fire Marshal Division (SFMD) and Minnesota Office of Pipeline Safety.

Rosendahl started his career in 1974 as a Woodbury volunteer firefighter. He was assistant chief in Hastings for seven years and Owatonna fire chief for 13 years. Rosendahl was state director of emergency management before becoming state fire marshal.

“I have really enjoyed the thousands of miles I’ve driven to every corner of this state to meet with firefighters and local officials,” Rosendahl said. “Talking fire prevention, firefighter safety and fire department efficiency is a dream come true.”

DPS Commissioner Mona Dohman has announced that Bruce West will replace Rosendahl effective Dec. 4. West will also lead the Office of Pipeline Safety.

West already works closely with the SFMD as Minnesota Board of Firefighter Training and Education executive director. He has held that position since June 2011.

A 35-year Minnesota fire service veteran, West started his career as a paid on-call firefighter with the Anoka-Champlin Fire Department. He was a full-time firefighter for Anoka-Champlin before he was appointed Elk River fire chief in October 1994, a position he held for 15 years.

“Jerry Rosendahl has done a great job for the past 10 years with his leadership and creating valuable partnerships within the fire service around the state,” West said. “I look forward to continuing to work with all the Minnesota fire service organizations and firefighters.”

Prior to becoming MBFTE executive director, West worked at DPS’ Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) division as the training/liaison manager for the Minnesota Joint Analysis Center. West also served as HSEM’s statewide fire liaison.

West also served on the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association Board of Directors and was its president in 2006-07.