Orono School Board election results: Incumbents, Borchers elected

According to the unofficial results provided by the Minnesota Secretary of State website, Bob Tunheim, Sarah Borchers and Martha Van de Ven have been elected to the three open seats on the Orono School Board.

Four people had filed for the three seats. According to the unofficial results as of about 8:40 p.m. with all precincts reporting, Tunheim earned 1,292 votes, followed by Borchers with 1,271 votes and Van de Ven with 1,220 votes. Don Germanson came in fourth with 950 votes.

Tunheim and Van de Ven are incumbents. At the end of this year, Tunheim will finish his first term on the board. Van de Ven has been on the board for 22 years. Mike Johnson is the third incumbent, though he decided not to run for re-election. He will finish his first term on the board at the end of December.

School board members serve four-year terms.


up arrow
Don't Miss A Thing!

Our news stories are now available through email. Simply enter your email address below and click “Subscribe” to see the new stories every day.