New principals announced for two District 279 schools

Two Osseo Area Schools junior high schools will begin the 2013-2014 school year with new principals.

Kim Monette
Kim Monette

Kim Monette will take the reins at Brooklyn Junior High, and Lisa Hartman start at Maple Grove Junior High.

Both Monette and Hartman are well acquainted with Osseo Area Schools, having served in the district for years as assistant principals.

“We are thrilled that after a comprehensive search process, we have selected two outstanding leaders who are student-focused and committed to excellence,” Assistant Superintendent Teri Staloch said in a statement from the district. Staloch led the principal search. “Ms. Monette and Ms. Hartman have first-hand experience and expertise in the priority work of our school district, and they are committed to bringing our mission to life for all students.”

Monette has more than 20 years of experience in education. She has been an assistant principal for a decade, and her last eight years were spent at Brooklyn Junior High.

Lisa Hartman
Lisa Hartman

Monette has a bachelors’s degree in child development and family life, and a master’s degree in guidance and counseling. At Brooklyn Junior High, Monette has played a key role in leading staff development and helped create the STEAM magnet program at the school.

Monette succeeds Principal Giuseppe Mendolia, who has accepted a position as principal of an international school in Guatemala.

Lisa Hartman has 25 years of experience in K-12 education. She served 16 years as a classroom teacher and nine years as an assistant principal – seven at Maple Grove Senior High.

Hartman has a bachelor’s degree in Spanish and business and a master’s degree in curriculum and instruction. She is an educational leadership doctoral candidate.

At Maple Grove Senior High, Hartman implemented a teacher mentorship program and helped develop the school’s “Professional Learning Community.”

Hartman succeeds Maple Grove Junior High interim principal Wendy Loberg, who will retire at the end of the school year.

Monette and Hartman will assume their leadership roles July 1.