Elm Creek principal gets state leadership award

An Osseo Area Schools principal has received a leadership award from the Minnesota Elementary Schools Principals’ Association (MESPA).

Principal Jim Meyer of Elm Creek Elementary School in Maple Grove received the 2013 Minnesota division leadership achievement award. The award honors principals whose leadership and sustained efforts have made noteworthy contributions to the operation of effective school learning programs.

Jim Meyer
Jim Meyer

Meyer has been a principal 13 years, five of them at Elm Creek.

Mark Hansen, principal at Mississippi Elementary School in Coon Rapids nominated Meyer.

“Jim Meyer is a solid and calm leader in the Osseo school district,” Hansen said in a statement.

Among his most significant career accomplishments, Meyer includes the implementation of “Response to Intervention” at Elm Creek Elementary during the past three years. Meyer believes the intervention program and data analysis that go with it has increased student achievement.