Hoffman appointed to commission overseeing school trust land management

Sen. John Hoffman, DFL-Champlin, was appointed to the Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission Feb. 4.

The commission is a bipartisan group of twelve members – six from the House and six from the Senate.

Minnesota has a school trust fund that receives its money from revenue generated on school trust land managed by the DNR. There are approximately 2.5 million acres of school trust land, with another one million acres of mineral rights.

The Legislative Permanent School Funding Commission oversees the DNR’s management of school trust land. The commission reviews and recommends policy changes and offers advice on policy implementation.

“The success of our children’s education relies on the resources we provide our schools,” Hoffman said in a statement “The Permanent School Fund is an important long-term source of funds for public education in Minnesota, and we must make sure these funds are used the best possible way.”

Hoffman was also appointed to the Governor’s Workforce Development Council and the Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources.

Hoffman represents Senate District 36, which includes Champlin, Brooklyn Park north of 85th Avenue and part of Coon Rapids.