STMA approves calendars for next two school years

The St. Michael-Albertville School Board has approved the calendars for the 2013-14 and 2014-15 school years.

This was the second reading of the proposed calendars that were drawn up by a committee of staff members.

Board chairperson Doug Birk said the calendar issue is important to staff and families wanting to plan for things like spring breaks, but conceded, “One thing is for sure, someone won’t like it.”

 

2013-14

The 2013-14 calendar begins with a Tuesday, Sept. 3, start date, a day after Labor Day. There is no school Oct. 16-18 for the teacher workshop. Thanksgiving break is Nov. 28 and 29. Winter break is Monday, Dec. 23, through Wednesday, Jan. 1.

There is no school Jan. 20 for MLK Jr. Day, and no school Feb. 17 for President’s Day. There is no school March 7 for the teacher workshop. There is no school April 18 and 21 (Easter weekend), and no school May 26 (Memorial Day).

The last day of school in 2014 is Thursday, May 29.

 

2014-15

The 2014-15 calendar begins with a Tuesday, Sept. 2, start date, a day after Labor Day. There is no school Oct. 15-17 for the teacher workshop. Thanksgiving break is Nov. 27 and 28. Winter break is Monday, Dec. 22, through Friday, Jan. 2.

There is no school Jan. 19 for MLK Jr. Day. Spring break is Wednesday through Friday, April 1 through 3 (Easter weekend), and no school Monday, April 6, for the teacher workshop. There is no school May 25 (Memorial Day).

The last day of school in 2015 is Wednesday, June 3.

up arrow