Dayton to interview 3 candidates for open seat

With Tim McNeil’s move into the Dayton mayoral seat from the 2012 Election, his council seat is open. The four current members of the Dayton City Council — Mayor McNeil, Rick Shermer, Eric Lucero and Scott Salonek — will interview and select an individual to fill the remainder of McNeil’s old council seat.

Of the eight individuals who submitted applications for the vacancy, the council selected three to interview Tuesday, Jan. 29 beginning at 6 p.m. They include: Vince Johnson, current chair of the Planning Commission; Dennis Fisher, a former Parks Commission member; and Anne Ziebell, current Chair of Public Safety and a former council member. The interview process is open to the public.

The new council member will be required to attend the League of Minnesota Cities Newly Elected Officials training session held in Brooklyn Center on Feb. 1-2; attend regular meetings of the council – the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month, special meetings and worksessions as need and participate in commission/task force and special committees, as needed.

Contact Mindy Mateuszczyk at [email protected]