DAYTON: Lucero, Salonek win most votes for 2 open council seats – Recount may ensue

With 100 percent of the precincts reporting, the citizens of Dayton have elected two new council members. Eric Lucero was a clear winner with 1,519 votes (36 percent).

The race for the second open seat was decided with less than .5 percent between the next highest vote getter. Scott Salonek earned the second seat with 906 votes (21.47 percent) narrowly edging out incumbent Phil Forseth who earned 891 votes (21.11 percent). James Jadwin earned 886 votes (21 percent).

Hennepin County is considering a recount for the second seat because of the narrow margin of victory.

Current council member Scott Hoke did not run for re-election.

These results are unofficial.