Rockford cross country

Rockford competed in the section cross country meet at Pierz on a cold windy Friday.

Many of the Rocket boys produced personal best times as the team finished 11th out of 21 teams, missing the 10th spot by two points.

Rockford was paced by Ty Griffin (29), Nick Klonne (33), Austin Witthuhn (52), Drew Hafften (73), Brannon Winters (85), Nico VanDanacker (96) and McCormick Deering (106).

“We only lose one senior (McCormick) so I believe that we will do very well next year,” said first year head coach Jason Hestor.

This was the first time the girls were able to run a full team all season. Hester said Liz Nelson ran exceptionally well in beating her previous personal best time by over a minute and a half.

Lydia Buffie also had her personal best. The girls finished 16th.

Nelson (67) was trailed by Buffie (78), Anya Cady (102), Emily Pothast (106), Morgan Aubel (111) and Sarah Evans (125).

Season ending awards went to Griffin and Nelson for rookie of the year; Matt McCullough and Anya Cady as most improved and Nick Klonne and Lydia Buffie and most valuable.

MN State Cross Country Coaches Association- The boys won the Gold Academic Award (GPA 3.75 to 4.0) from the Minnesota State Cross Country Coaches Association. The girls won the Silver Award (GPA 3.5 to 3.75).