Polls open at 7 a.m. on Nov. 6th for General Election voting

The 2012 General Election is Tuesday, Nov. 6. Polls in Maple Grove and Osseo open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. to voters.

The following is a list of precinct locations in Maple Grove and Osseo, as well as some of the races that will be appearing on the ballot.


In Maple Grove, voters will be looking to fill two open city council seats. Candidates appearing on the ballot for two council seats are incumbents Erik Johnson and Leann Sargent, along with Mark Aubart Sr., David Brown, Jay Dirks, Sherri Marie Johnson and Dan Vogtman.

Maple Grove’s precinct boundaries and locations have changed. Many Maple Grove residents will have a new polling place, and it’s important to note that a voter can only vote in the precinct they are assigned to. Here are is list of the new polling locations:

1 — Advent Lutheran Church, 9475 Jefferson Highway

2 — Elm Creek Elementary, 9830 Revere Lane

3 — Maple Grove Public Works, 9030 Forestview Lane

4 — Maple Grove Senior High, 9800 Fernbrook Lane

5 — Grove Christian Center, 14320 93rd Avenue

6 — Church of the Open Door, 9060 Zanzibar Lane

7 — Weaver Lake Elementary, 15900 Weaver Lake Road

8 — Maple Grove Covenant Church, 9350 Upland Lane

9 — Maple Grove Lutheran Church, 9251 Elm Creek Blvd.

10 — Rice Lake Elementary, 13755 89th Ave. N.

11 — Lord of Life Lutheran Church, 18500 County Road 101

12 — Maple Grove Community Center, 12951 Weaver Lake Road

13 — Maple Grove Junior High, 7000 Hemlock Lane

14 — St. Joseph the Worker, 7180 Hemlock Lane

15 — Cedar Island Elementary, 6777 Hemlock Lane

16 — Maple Grove Evangelical Church, 8585 Rice Lake Road

17 — Maple Ridge Church, 13400 Maple Knoll Way

18 — Basswood Elementary, 15425 Bass Lake Road

19 — Church of the Open Door, 9060 Zanzibar Lane

20 — Rush Creek Elementary, 8801 County Road 101

21 — Lord of Life Lutheran Church, 18500 County Road 101

22 — New Life Community, 6900 W. Fish Lake Road

23 — Oak View Elementary, 6710 E. Fish Lake Road

Here is a new precinct map for voting location within the city of Maple Grove.
Here is a new precinct map for voting location within the city of Maple Grove.

With the anticipated large voter turnout on Nov. 6, Maple Grove voters can take several steps now to ensure their Election Day experience will be a positive one. Maple Grove city staff is asking residents to take time prior to Election Day to check out the city’s website at maplegrovemn.gov or the Office of the Secretary of State’s website at sos.state.mn.us to find their polling place. Voters may also contact the City’s Election Headquarters at 763-494-6498.

On Election Day, if someone is not registered to vote or need to update their registration they may also do so at their polling location on Election Day as long as they provide proof of residence. For more information on acceptable forms of identification to register to vote people may access the city’s website or the Office of the Secretary of State’s website.


Osseo voters will look to fill three positions on the council, including the position of mayor (two-year term) and two city council positions (each four-year terms).

Candidates appearing on the ballot include incumbent Al Lindquist and Duane Poppe (current councilor) for the mayor’s seat.

Candidates for four-year city council terms are incumbent Mark Schulz, along with Claudia Gisvold, John Goth, Bonnie Heinen and Daniel Spanier.

Osseo voters will continue to vote at Osseo City Hall, 415 Central Avenue. Voting is conducted in the Community Center, which is also handicap accessible.

If anyone is a new resident of Osseo, voter registration forms are available at Osseo City Hall or on the Minnesota Secretary of State website.

Anyone with further questions can contact Deputy Clerk LeAnn Larson at 763-425-2624.



Area residents will also have other votes to cast for the following seats.

• Osseo School Board — There are five candidates running for three seats on the Osseo School Board. Candidates appearing on the ballot include: Linda Etin, Robert Gerhart, Jacki Girtz, Collette Guyott-Hempel and Dean Henke.

• Hennepin County Board Dist. 1 — Incumbent Mike Opat will face Chris Rains. The candidates are nonpartisan. This district includes the city of Osseo.

• Hennepin County Board Dist. 7 — Incumbent Jeff Johnson is running unopposed. This district includes the city of Maple Grove.

• MN House District 34A — Incumbent Joyce Peppin (R-Rogers) will face Adam Fisher (DFL) filed May 31. This district covers the north and west portion of Maple Grove.

• MN House District 34B — Incumbent Kurt Zellers (R-Maple Grove) and David B. Hoden (DFL) will be on the ballot. This district covers the east and southern portion of Maple Grove and all of Osseo.

• MN Senate District 34 — Incumbent Warren Limmer (R-Maple Grove) faces Sharon Bahensky (DFL).

• U.S. Congressional District 3 — Incumbent Erik Paulsen (R-Eden Prairie) will face Brian Barnes (DFL). This district includes the cities of Maple Grove and Osseo.

• U.S. Senator — Incumbent Amy Klobuchar (DFL) faces Republican Kurt Bills and Stephen Williams (I).

• Three Rivers Park District of Commissioners – District 2 — Rick Theisen and Jennifer Dejournett will be on the Nov. 6 ballot.


More information is available on the Minnesota Secretary of States website at sos.state.mn.us, where voters can find mock ballots and candidates as well as polling locations.