Candidates file for city, school district offices

Candidates have filed papers to run for city and school district offices in Corcoran, Greenfield, Rockford, Loretto, Medina, Delano, the Rockford School District and the Delano School District. The filing period ended Tuesday, Aug. 14.

Here are the names that voters will find on their ballots in the Tuesday, Nov. 6 General Election.



Up for election in Corcoran are seats belonging to Mayor Ken Guenthner (two-year term), and councilors George Gmach and Roz Milbrandt (four-year terms). Filing were: Guenthner for mayor, and Milbrandt, former councilor Ron Thomas and Diane Lynch for council.



In Delano five candidates are competing for two City Council seats, each carrying four-year terms. The five are Harlan D. Lewis, Jon Sutherland, Betsy Stolfa, Dan Gustafson and John D. (Jack) Russek. Stolfa is seeking a repeat term, and current City Councilor Holly Schrupp is not seeking re-election.



The Greenfield City Council has an open mayor’s seat in this election, as well as two council seats.

Running for mayor are Brad Johnson, sitting councilor, and John Lund, former mayor and councilor.

The three candidates competing for the two open council seats are: Incumbent Mike Erickson, Chuck Alcon and Mark Holten.

The mayor’s term is Greenfield is for two years; councilor’s serve four-year terms.



In Loretto, Kent Koch is running for a repeat term as mayor. City Councilor Clark Lohr will oppose him. The mayor’s term is for two years.

Four candidates will vie for two City Council seats, each carrying four-year terms. Incumbents Jeffery France and Brenda Daniels will square off against Henry “Hank” Pepin and Cari Girk.



In Medina, current Mayor Tom Crosby will be opposed on the ballot by Karl Hanson and Darrell Johnson. The Medina mayor’s term is for two years.

Three candidates are running for two seats on the Medina City Council with each seat carrying a four-year term. City Councilor Elizabeth Weir is seeking re-election. John G. Anderson and Jim Dailey are competing for the seat of Mike Siitari, who is not seeking re-election.



In Rockford, the mayor and two council seats are open to voting in November.

Running unopposed for the mayoral seat, held now by Michael Beyer, is Renee Hafften. Hafften currently sits on the council.

Four candidates are vying for two seats on the council: Incumbent Rick Martinson, Denise Kesanen, Bill Decker and Robert Freese.

All Rockford City officials hold four-year terms.



The Rockford Area Schools Board of Education h as three open seats this election. Incumbents Kris Abrahamson, Todd Anderson and Kathy Smith will be on the ballot along with Steve Yakesh and Michael Sanders.

Each elected board official serves for three years.



The Delano School Board has six of its seven seats up for election, with three of them carrying two-year terms and three of them carrying four-year terms. Seeking four-year seats are incumbents Amy Johnson, Randy Durick and Sarah Baker. Incumbents Corey Black and Carolyn Milano are seeking two-year seats and are opposed by Mark A. Larson and Jonathan Ness. Current School Board member Peter Brasket is not seeking re-election.

— Compiled by Aaron Brom, Linda Herkenhoff and Susan Van Cleaf