Area voters narrow field for fall election

Minnesota voters went to the polls, Tuesday, Aug. 14 for primary elections to narrow the field of candidates for the Nov. 6 General Election. Here are results for candidates running for offices in this area.

Results are unofficial as of Wednesday, Aug. 15.



In a very tight race to see who will represent the GOP in November’s election, it appears as though Dave Osmek has won the Senate District 33 GOP primary.

With 39 of 39 precincts reporting, Osmek has received 2,885 votes, compared to 2,778 for Connie Doepke.

Osmek was the GOP-endorsed candidate in the race, receiving the endorsement earlier this year over Doepke, who is the current House District 33B representative.

Provided there are no changes in the numbers, Osmek will now move on to the Nov. 6 election to face DFL candidate Judy Rogosheske.

Whoever wins in November will take over the seat of Sen. Gen Olson, who will retire at the end of the year.

Senate District 33 includes the cities of Corcoran, Deephaven, Excelsior, Greenfield, Greenwood, Independence, Long Lake, Loretto, Maple Plain, Medina, Minnetonka Beach, Minnetrista, Mound, Orono, Shorewood, Spring Park, St. Bonifacius, Tonka Bay, Wayzata and parts of Chanhassen.





It appears that Penny Steele garnered the most votes of the four candidates vying for the DistrictOone seat with 48 percent or 3426 total votes. Incumbent Sara Wyatt received 22 percent or 1559 total votes. Steele and Wyatt will be on the Nov. 6 ballot contending for the District One seat.



The primary vote is in for Wright County District 4 Commissioner.

This is a new district that includes Precinct 1A in St. Michael (west of County Rd. 19), Albertville, Hanover, Rockford and Rockford Township.

Mary Wetter of Rockford Township received the most votes, at 229. Mike Potter of Albertville received 199 votes and will face Wetter in the general election.

Also receiving votes were David Dayon, of St. Michael, 184 votes; Michael Beyer, of Rockford, 147 votes; and Matt Walker, of Rockford Township, 137 votes.



Wright County voters have decided that Richard “Dick” Mattson will not return to the Wright County Board in 2013. By a narrow margin, Mattson lost his bid for a spot on the ballot in the Nov. 6 General Election in the race for the County Commissioner’s seat in the new Fifth District. He had served since 1992 as commissioner for the old Fifth District. He lives south of Buffalo in Marysville Township.

Charlie Borrell, of Waverly, was the top vote getter with 367 votes. He will face on Nov. 6 Leonard Wozniak, of Cokato, who drew 340 votes. Mattson came in third with 313 votes, but only the top two vote getters will be on the November ballot.

Borrell, Wozniak and Mattson easily surpassed five other candidates for the Fifth District seat — three of whom were from Delano. Dan Vick attracted 247 votes; Larry Bartels, 132 votes and Paul Schoborg, 28 votes. Schoborg had withdrawn from the election too late to have his name removed from the ballot. Results for the other candidates are Vickie Nibbe, 175 votes and Tom LaPlant, 36 votes.

The new Fifth District spans southern Wright County and includes Delano, which formerly was located in the Third District. Jack Russek, of Delano, is retiring from the Wright County Board after representing the Third District since 1992.


3rd Congressional District

Garnering more than 90 percent of the vote, U.S. Congressman Erik Paulsen held a commanding lead over challenger John W. Howard III in the Republican U.S. Congressional Dist. 3 Primary Election. Paulsen earned 18,762 votes (90.19 percent) to Howard’s 2,032 (9.81 percent). Paulsen will face DFLer Brian Barnes in the General Election in November.



Michele Bachmann, of Stillwater, garnered 80.35 percent of the vote in the three-way race for the Republican spot on the ballot in the 6th Congressional District.

Bachmann drew 14,569 votes. Stephen Thompson attracted 2,322 votes (12.81 percent), and Aubrey Immelman attracted 1,242 votes (6.85 percent).

In the Democratic primary, Jim Graves ran unopposed and received 8,600 votes.

In this area, the 6th District includes St. Michael, Albertville, Hanover, Delano, Rockford and Rockford Township.