Dayton narrows council candidate field to 4

Voters in Dayton turned out to vote for their two top choices for the two open seats on the council this year. The top four vote getters will continue in the race. They were Eric Lucero with 323 votes (30.91 percent); James Jadwin with 186 votes (17.8 percent); Phil Forseth 162 votes (15.5 percent); and Scott Salonek with 159 votes (15.22 percent).

The remaining candidates each received less than 10 percent of the vote and with the lowest votes are no longer eligible for the general election.

The mayoral seat is also open this year but with only two candidates in the race, no primary election was necessary.