STMA announces baseball awards


Six Knights were named to the Mississippi 8 all-conference team, and several others picked up awards as well.

Included on the all-conference team were freshman left fielder Tyler Berg; junior first baseman/pitcher Tyler Dallum; junior first baseman/pitcher Jacob Dzubay; senior right fielder/pitcher Steven Kiesner; senior third baseman/pitcher Andrew McCarthy; and senior second baseman Shawn Morris.

Two Knights-senior shortstop Garrett Watters and junior catcher Jeff Hackenmueller-received all-conference honorable mention.

In other conference awards, Jacob Dzubay was named Pitcher of the Year, and McCarthy was selected as co-Defensive Player of the Year.

Seven Knights also made the Mississippi 8 all-conference academic team. They included: senior catcher Jake Bierstedt; juniors Owen Gammell, Aaron Michaelson and Mitchell Schnieder; sophomore Andrew Winans; and Justin Dzubay and Dallum.

Team awards for the 2012 season went to: Bierstedt (Mr. Team); Berg (Rookie of the Year and Mr. Clutch); Jacob Dzubay (Most Valuable Pitcher and Most Valuable Player); Kiesner (Most Improved); and senior center fielder Jarrett Peterson (Gold Glove).

The Knights finished the 2012 season at 14-9 overall, going 10-2 in the Mississippi 8 play to claim their fourth regular season conference championship. Their other titles came in 2010, 2009 and 2007.