6 file for Dist. 728 school board

Six citizens have filed Affidavits of Candidacy for three at-large seats of the Dist. 728 Elk River Area School District School Board.

The candidates, all of whom live within the district, are: Sue Farber, Elk River; Jane Frazier, Rogers; Janelle Henry, Albertville; Dan Hunt, Rogers; Tom McAuley, Elk River; and Holly Thompson, Zimmerman

The filing period closed June 5. As the filings did not reach one more than twice the number of seats available there will not be a primary for any of the open seats.

Of the six, three are incumbents. Farber was first elected to the School Board in 2004; she was reelected in 2008. Henry served on the School Board from 2002 to 2006 and was reelected in 2008. Thompson is completing her first term. Frazier ran for the School Board in 2010; this is the first Dist. 728 School Board candidacy for Hunt and McAuley.

The School Board’s major function is to provide leadership, policy development, policy oversight and communication. It is composed of seven members elected to alternating four-year terms.

Elections are held every two years. The election is scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 6.